College football | Individual awards… and collectively!

As a prelude to the Dunsmore Cup final, Sunday at CEPSUM between the University of Montreal’s Carabins and Laval University’s Rouge et Or, the Quebec Student Sports Network (RSEQ) revealed the winners of the honor on Friday. american football.

Posted on November 12, 2021

Michael Marois

Michael Marois
The press

An opportunity to salute the exploits of the players, but also the work of everyone involved after two particularly difficult years. “With what we have experienced over the past few months, this season and Sunday’s final will allow us to rediscover the joy of student sports, as if we can breathe again,” said Manon Simard, executive director of CEPSUM and the sport of excellence, at a ceremony. in the Hall of Honor of the Université de Montréal.

“Bravo to the coaches,” she continued. You have not been hired for the role you hold in almost two years and you have risen to the challenge in a remarkable way. Congratulations also to the players, who have developed under difficult circumstances, but have managed to reconcile sport and study with great brio, as we can see today. †

Rouge et Or head coach Glen Constantin explained that head coaches spoke to each other “every Friday during the pandemic to keep abreast of the latest developments, to share [leurs] tricks and work together to keep players motivated.

Marco Iadeluca, of the Carabins, who was named Head Coach of the Year, added: “It is a great recognition for all our coaching staff, but also for the coaches of the other teams. †

Such a prize is won as a group and that certainly applies this year. We are the only conference with a regular schedule.

Marco Iadeluca, head coach of Carabins

The director-general of the RSEQ, Gustave Roel, recalled that “the forced cessation of activities affected more than 200,000 student athletes, more than 13,000 of them in football”. “We were warm in the first week of the season [avec un cas de COVID-19 chez les Carabins], but thanks to everyone’s cooperation, we were able to play flawlessly throughout the season. †

Unsurprisingly, the winners of the individual awards come from all five teams, a sign of the gradual move towards greater parity, although Sunday’s final will see the same rivals for the eighth time in a row.

A deserved honor for Olivier Roy

The Jeff-Russell trophy, awarded to the player of the year of the year, went to Olivier Roy of the Concordia Stingers, a team that has messed up the cards this season by inflicting the Carabins in particular with their only loss.


Concordia Stinger quarterback Olivier Roy

Roy embodies the resilience that all players have had to show over the past two years. The quarterback played his college football with Cégep de La Pocatière, a third division team. “After high school, I didn’t think I would be recruited at the university level and I was just looking for a place to play for a few more seasons. It went well and the people of Concordia contacted me. I took a risk and I have not regretted it for a moment! †

Roy first got the chance to team up with Adam Vance, winner of the Jeff-Russell in 2019. Last season, he hoped to land the starting quarterback position. “I had prepared well and it was certainly a big disappointment when the season was canceled not only for me, but for all the players in the team.”

We had a good group and after taking the hit we moved on quickly to be even better prepared this season. We worked together for a long time and I think it showed on the pitch. We have done great things offensively and I am proud of what we have achieved as a team.

Concordia Stinger quarterback Olivier Roy

Roy has amassed no fewer than 2,470 passing yards, an average of 308.8 yards per game, with 18 touchdown passes. And it was often in the fourth quarter that he was most effective, and his composure allowed the Stingers to make several spectacular comebacks.

“It’s one of my qualities in football, I stay calm in all situations,” explains Roy. It is not something that can be learned and I am aware that it is an asset that has served me well this season.

“That said, an honor like the one I receive today is also a team trophy. I know I’ve been blessed with some great players by my side, a great offensive line and great pass receivers.”

In total, three representatives from the Stingers, three from the Carabins, two from the Sherbrooke Vert & Or and one from the Rouge et Or and McGill Redbirds were honored.

Only one trophy has yet to be awarded, the Dunsmore Cup.

the laureates

  • Jeff-Russell Trophy (MVP) – Olivier Royquarterback, Concordia Stingers
  • Head Coach of the Year – Marco IadelucaMontreal Carabins
  • Leadership and Social Engagement Award – Malick Sylvaindefensive end, Concordia Stingers
  • Newbie of the Year – Jaylan Greavesreceiver, Concordia Stingers
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Alec Poirierlinebacker, Laval Rouge and Or
  • Lineman of the Year – Philippe Lemieux CardinalMontreal Carabins
  • Special Ops Player of the Year – Jacob Camirekicker, Sherbrooke Vert & Or
  • Assistant Coach of the Year – Luc SylvainVert & Or of Sherbrooke
  • Defense Rookie of the Year – Harold Miessanlinebacker, Montreal Carabins
  • Offensive Rookie of the Year – Darius Simonsreceiver, McGill Redbirds

Leave a Comment