IIHF: Canada Reveals 24 Player Squad for World Hockey Championship

Canadian forward Josh Anderson will represent Canada at the IIHF World Hockey Championship, which will take place in Helsinki and Tampere, Finland.

Canada has revealed the list of 24 players who will represent the Maple Leaf and Anderson’s name will appear on it.

Anderson, 28, scored 19 goals and provided 13 assists in 68 games with the Bleu-blanc rouge last season. He will be the only representative of Habs to wear the national team colors during the tournament, which will take place in Tampere and Helsinki, Finland, from May 13-29.

Four Quebecers were selected to be part of the team. Defender Thomas Chabot, as well as forwards Nicolas Roy, Maxime Comtois and Pierre-Luc Dubois will be part of the roster.

Comtois is the only player from the 2021 edition to return this year.

20-year-old QMJHL alum Dawson Mercer will also wear the Canadian uniform.

Canada will defend their title in 2021 with a 3-2 victory over Finland in the final. Canada had lost the first three games of the tournament before regrouping and taking the crown.

For the 2022 edition, Claude Julien is the head coach of the training. Notably, he will be supported by Quebecer André Tourigny behind the bench.

Canada opens the World Cup against Germany on May 13. He also meets Italy, Slovakia, Kazakhstan, Switzerland, Denmark and France in the preliminary round.

Canada has won the World Cup 27 times since 1931. He also collected 15 silver and seven bronze medals.

Formation of Canada
Position Player hometown Professional team
Guardian Logan Thompson Calgary, AB Vegas Golden Knights
Guardian Chris Driedger Winnipeg, Manitoba Seattle Kraken
Guardian Matt Tomkins Sherwood Park, AB Frolunda HC (SHL)
defender Zach Whitecloud Brandon, MB Vegas Golden Knights
defender Nick Holden St. Albert, AB Ottawa Senators
defender Travis Sanheim Elkhorn, MB Philadelphia Flyers
defender Damon Severson Meville, Saskatchewan New Jersey Devils
defender Ryan Graves Yarmouth, Nova Scotia New Jersey Devils
defender Dysin Mayo Victoria, British Columbia Arizona Coyotes
defender Thomas Chabot Sainte-Marie-de-Beauce, Quebec Ottawa Senators
Attacker Nicholas Roy Amos, Quebec Vegas Golden Knights
Attacker Mathew Barzal Coquitlam, British Columbia New York Islanders
Attacker Adam Lowry Calgary, AB Winnipeg Jets
Attacker Dawson Mercer Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador New Jersey Devils
Attacker Drake Batherson New Minas, Nova Scotia Ottawa Senators
Attacker Eric O’Dell Ottawa, ON Dynamo Moscow (KHL)
Attacker Dylan Cozens Whitehorse, Yukon Buffalo Sabers
Attacker cole sillinger Regina, Saskatchewan Columbus blue jackets
Attacker Maxime Comtois Longueuil, Quebec Anaheim Ducks
Attacker Morgan Geekie Strathclair, MB Seattle Kraken
Attacker Noah Gregor Beaumont, AB San Jose Sharks
Attacker Josh Anderson Burlington, Ont. Montreal Canadiens
Attacker Pierre-Luc Dubois Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Quebec Winnipeg Jets
Attacker Kent Johnson Port Moody, British Columbia Columbus blue jackets

Leave a Comment